The city center is situated on the lakeside promenade, around the Piazza del Duomo, one of the largest cathedrals in northern Italy. The old town still has the appearance of the original Roman fortress, with well-preserved medieval walls and large watchtowers.
The classical authors attribute the founding of Como to the lineage of Orobi.
During the medieval period, Como was disputed between rival families of Rusca (o Rusconi) and Vitani. Following decades of war (1118-1127) between Como and Milan, Milanese forces besieged Como on August 27, 1127, destroying the walls and homes and dispersing the villagers.
in 1158, with the help of the Emperor Federico Barbarossa, the Comune rebuilt the city destroyed by the Milanese, rebuilding and enlarging the defense walls with their imposing towers of Porta Torre, San Vitale and Porta Nuova (or Torre Gattoni).
In 1694 in Como was the ordination of the Jesuit priest Giovanni Girolamo Saccheri, father of non-Euclidean geometries. Since then he followed the fate of the Duchy of Milan and of the Lombardy-Venetia Kingdom.
In 1768, physicist Giulio Cesare Gattoni erected in the city the first Italian lightning rod. In 1797 Napoleon arrived and announced at Villa Saporiti the establishment of the Cisalpine Republic. On May 27, 1859, following the Battle of San Fermo, Giuseppe Garibaldi in command of the Cacciatori delle Alpi freed the city from Austrian occupation.
The fifties and sixties are remembered for the work of the mayor Lino Gelpi, who did his best to beautify the city, dismantling the freight of the State Railways, putting in place the park on the lake, and creating the Villa Olmo promenade. He also covered the stream Cosia with a large arterial road – the so-called “ring road” – to try to free the center from traffic jams.
A border town straddling different cultures, Como is the “capital” of the lake, which attracts international tourism related to the natural environment, and is an industrial center based on the industry of silk.
Lake Como in Lombardy is a glacial lake, belonging to the provinces of Como and Lecco. With its 416 meters of depth, it is one of the deepest lakes in Europe and the third largest lake in Italy. It has a characteristic shape of the letter “Y”.
A walk through the historic center allows tourists to experience the atmosphere of a medieval town, to discover evidence of the Renaissance and Baroque periods, and to be amazed before the most recent and famous buildings of Rationalism. And, finally, to be enchanted along the beautiful promenade lake with classical forms of aristocratic villas.
Cattedrale di Santa Maria Assunta
Casa del Fascio
Lungolago di Como
Funicolare di Como
Statua di Giuseppe Garibaldi